Essex Freedom Dinner (and morning after)

Leave a comment

November 18, 2013 by mmetcaa

Essex Freedom Dinner (and morning after)(Alex Georgiou, Alex Evelyn and myself)

I had a superb weekend visiting friends at my former university, Essex. The meal was tremendously well organised and we heard from inspirational coach and consultant, Peter Botting. I’d like to offer a big thank you to Essex University CF for their efforts. When I took over the CF group there in 2010, I quickly set about establishing ourselves as the loudest and proudest political society on campus. I’m really glad to see that this is continuing under the leadership of my dear friend, Alex Evelyn.

The term freedom is too often used as a tacky buzzword with no real meaning. For conservatives, freedom is a way of life that needs to be cherished and preserved. We do this by believing in the right to speak, act and think freely without interference. The difference between the conservative outlook on freedom and that of the leftist approach, is that we believe these three fundamental basics should apply to all, irrespective of political position. For the left, all three are wonderful, providing you’re not a conservative.

This weekend reminded me that we, conservatives, owe it to our fellow man to preserve freedom for all.

Leave a Reply

